NT Architects Board

Print this Page

Establishment and functions

The Northern Territory Architects Board is a statutory authority established under section 5 of the Northern Territory Architects Act.

The Board’s functions include

  • the establishment and maintenance of registers for registering architects, architectural companies and architectural partnerships;
  • accepting applications for registration in these categories; and
  • dealing with complaints under the Act in relation to registered architects.

The Board also conducts architectural practice examinations as part of a national system, as a basis for registration.

Application lodgement

Licensing / registration applications can be lodged at the Territory Business Centre (TBC) in Darwin, Katherine, Tennant Creek or Alice Springs. TBC staff will accept your form and payment and take photographs if required.

If you wish to speak to a licensing officer please call the number given on the application form. 

In addition to lodging in person at a TBC, licensing / registration applications and renewals can be scanned and emailed or sent by mail to GPO Box 9800, Darwin, NT, 0801. Full lodgement details are recorded on application forms.

Current registrations

A list of registered individuals and companies as at 28 February 2015 is available here (individuals) and here (companies).

As required by the Architects Act the Board publishes a list of all architects, partnerships and companies that appear in the Register as of the end of February each year. View the Gazette R2 - 21 April 2016.

Annual statements - Architectural partnership and companies

In July each year, in order to comply with the Architects Act (section19A) and remain registered in the Northern Territory, architectural companies are required to lodge an annual statement with the Board. Annual Statements are due by 31 July each year. There is no fee involved. Download the forms below:

Annual registration fees

Annual Registration fees for all individuals and companies are payable for each year commencing 1 January to 31 December.

Please download a renewal form from the application forms page.